Bereavement benefits

Bereavement Benefits consists of three main benefit payments 1) The Bereavement Payment (one off payment to payable to widow/widower if his/her late spouse had paid enough National Insurance contributions (NIC) and he/she was under 60 when her spouse died; or their husband/wife was not getting a Category A State Pension when he /she died) 2) Widowed Parents Allowance (Weekly benefit payable to widow/widower receiving Child Benefit) 3) Bereavement Allowance weekly benefit to people aged 45-pensionable age with no dependent children based on their late spouses NIC record and is payable for a maximum of 52 weeks from the date of bereavement)

Source: Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)

Publisher: Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)

Geographies: Local Authority District (LAD), County/Unitary Authority, Government Office Region (GOR), National

Geographic coverage: Great Britain

Time coverage: 2002 to 2009

Type of data: Administrative data

Notes: A widow/widower cannot get bereavement benefits based on their late spouses NIC if: he/she had been divorced from the man/woman who died, or he/she was living with the man/woman as if they were married to them but without being legally married; or he/she is living with another man/woman as if they were married to them; or he/she was in prison or held in legal custody.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Mező Érték
Szerző Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
department Department for Work and Pensions
external_reference DATA4NR-552
geographic_coverage 000000:
import_source DATA4NR-data4nr-export-09-02-2010.csv
last_major_modification 2010-02-09T16:21:06.978877
national_statistic no
openness_score 1
openness_score_last_checked 2011-06-06T14:20:12.022800
precision Statistics are based on a 5% bi-annual scan of the Pensions Strategy Computer System.
published_by Department for Work and Pensions [11409]
temporal_coverage_from 2002
temporal_coverage_to 2009
theme-primary Society
themes-secondary ["Government"]
update_frequency quarterly